Year 2 LabCampus Report

The workplace of the future

What will need to be considered by employers in the future when designing their office space? What do working environments need to look like in order to strengthen employee loyalty to their company? And are the Corona-related restrictions on collaboration causing a long-term change in the way people think? - these are all questions that we asked ourselves in the second year of our cooperation with MIT and addressed together in exciting workshops.

From interaction to innovation

Over the past few decades, the way we work has changed drastically, and with it our working environment. While little communication was necessary in the old days and hierarchical structures prevailed, the collective became more and more important with the digital transformation. Nevertheless, individuals continued to focus on their specific area of expertise, which meant that creativity and cross-disciplinary collaboration often fell by the wayside. Today, multiplied by the consequences of Covid-19, among other things, we understand that flexibility and interaction are essential success factors that must be promoted with the help of appropriately structured work environments in order to innovate more successfully in the future. This is because the working environment can influence results by either activating or limiting them.

All interesting results are published here.

Values of an innovative working environment

How has an environment to be designed that stimulates the creativity of the individual, facilitates collaboration, also across industries, and ultimately increases productivity? We discussed these questions in a workshop with external partners, but also within the LabCampus team.

The full report here.

Function and form of spaces

In a new working world, it is no longer sufficient to offer only functional office facilities. We need to follow up theoretical visions with concrete activities, change the way we work and create places that not only meet individual skills, wishes and needs. In the future, we will need agile space concepts where people not only want to work, but where they can also socialize, discover new things and, above all, enjoy being there. Some companies are already implementing exciting concepts based on this premise. 

More exciting examples here.

Year 1 Munich Senseable City Guide

MIT M1 Reiter

M1 - REITER

Building on the expressionist art movement "DER BLAUE REITER" this idea proposes using art to promote social interaction. At REITER, autonomous vehicles and street furniture exchange data to create digital art landscapes. Interactive display units distributed around campus encourage residents to create a work of art that is visualized in real time on passing vehicles. Why we like this idea? It combines Munich's avant-garde artistic tradition with the city's strength in technological development - and that's exactly what we're aiming for with LabCampus, too!

MIT Sendshack Garden

M2 - SENSHACK GARDEN

Perhaps one day, residents will be able to simply create a profile, rent a garden, choose their desired plants, use predictive systems to control water levels and temperature, and determine what is grown and eaten in the restaurants and cafes on campus. Businesses decide whether they want to get their hands dirty or simply let a robot do the work. Employees can water the plants even if they work from home. It doesn't take a genius to see the metaphor behind the idea: LabCampus is all about growing together.

MIT Skyface

M3 - SKYFACE

In its most complex form, Skyface aims to create a spatial experience by merging and visualizing large data sets. A simple scan of a boarding pass, for example, could one day activate a projection of individually generated visualizations glowing in the sky. More simply applied and expressed, Skyface is an art installation of outsized scale that reminds residents every day of LabCampus' role: connecting people around innovation.

M4 - SOUNDFLUX

Soundflux does just that, using sensors embedded in the environment to evaluate noise levels. Water fountains placed across campus can respond to the data provided, offsetting distracting noises with the sound of bubbling water. What excites us about this idea? It represents a wonderful opportunity to improve quality of life through technology. And it combines elements of nature with human interaction and space.

MIT Labmug

M5 - LABMUG

Our residents can feed in their contact details here, for instances: Company, email address, social media profiles, etc. - and simply exchange their contact data via "Cheers" (or any other toast). We see further potential in this idea. For example, the data could help us understand how and when different spaces on campus are being used. And honestly, who doesn't like having a digital gadget or two?

Year 2 LabCampus Report

Der Arbeitsplatz der Zukunft

Was müssen Arbeitgeber in Zukunft bei der Gestaltung ihrer Büroflächen beachten? Wie müssen Arbeitswelten aussehen, um die Bindung von Mitarbeitern an ihr Unternehmen zu stärken? Und verursachen die Corona-bedingten Einschränkungen in der Kollaboration einen langfristigen Wandel in der Denkweise der Menschen? - alles Fragen, die wir uns im zweiten Jahr der Kooperation mit dem MIT gestellt und gemeinsam in spannenden Workshops aufgearbeitet haben. 

Von Interaktion zu Innovation

In den letzten Jahrzehnten hat sich die Art zu arbeiten und damit auch unsere Arbeitsumgebung stark verändert. Während früher nur wenig Kommunikation notwendig war und hierarchische Strukturen vorherrschten, bekam das Kollektiv mit der digitalen Transformation immer mehr Bedeutung. Dennoch konzentrierte sich der Einzelne weiterhin auf seinen spezifischen Fachbereich, wodurch Kreativität und interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit häufig auf der Strecke blieben. Heute, u.a potenziert durch die Folgen von Covid-19, verstehen wir, dass Flexibilität und Interaktion wesentliche Erfolgsfaktoren sind, die mit Hilfe von entsprechend strukturierten Arbeitswelten gefördert werden müssen, um in Zukunft erfolgreicher zu innovieren. Denn die Arbeitsumgebung kann Ergebnisse beeinflussen, indem sie entweder aktivierend oder limitierend wirkt.

Der ganze Report hier.

Werte eines innovativen Arbeitsumfelds

Wie muss eine Umgebung gestaltet sein, die die Kreativität des Einzelnen anregt, die Zusammenarbeit, auch branchenübergreifend, erleichtert und am Ende Produktivität erhöht? Diese Fragen haben wir uns in einem Workshop mit externen Partnern, aber auch im LabCampus Team gestellt.

Alle spannenden Ergebnisse hier.

Funktionalität und Form von Räumen

In einer neuen Arbeitswelt reicht es nicht mehr aus funktionelle Büroflächen anzubieten. Wir müssen theoretischen Visionen, konkrete Maßnahmen folgen lassen, unsere Arbeitsweisen ändern und Orte schaffen, die nicht nur individuellen Fähigkeiten, Wünschen und Bedürfnissen gerecht werden. In Zukunft braucht es agile Raumkonzepte, in denen Menschen nicht nur arbeiten wollen, sondern in denen sie auch soziale Kontakte knüpfen können, neue Dinge entdecken und sich vor allem gerne aufhalten. Einige Unternehmen setzen auf Grundlage dieser Voraussetzung bereits spannende Konzepte um. 

Mehr dazu hier.

Year 1 Munich Senseable City Guide

MIT M1 Reiter

M1 - REITER

Aufbauend auf der expressionistischen Kunstbewegung "DER BLAUE REITER" schlägt diese Idee vor, Kunst zur Förderung der sozialen Interaktion einzusetzen. Bei REITER tauschen autonome Fahrzeuge und Stadtmöbel Daten aus, um digitale Kunstlandschaften zu kreieren. Interaktive Displayeinheiten, die auf dem Campus verteilt sind, ermutigen die Residents, ein Kunstwerk zu schaffen, das in Echtzeit auf passierenden Fahrzeugen visualisiert wird. Warum uns diese Idee gefällt? Sie verbindet die avantgardistisch-künstlerische Tradition Münchens mit der Stärke der Stadt in der technologischen Entwicklung - und genau das ist es, worauf wir mit LabCampus auch abzielen!

MIT Sendshack Garden

M2 - SENSHACK GARDEN

Vielleicht können die Residents eines Tages einfach ein Profil erstellen, einen Garten mieten, ihre gewünschten Pflanzen auswählen, vorausschauende Systeme zur Kontrolle von Wasserstand und Temperatur nutzen und bestimmen, was in den Restaurants und Cafés auf dem Campus angebaut und gegessen wird. Die Unternehmen entscheiden, ob sie sich die Hände schmutzig machen wollen oder einfach einem Roboter die Arbeit überlassen. Die Pflanzen gießen können die Mitarbeiter auch, wenn sie von zu Hause aus arbeiten. Man muss kein Genie sein, um die Metapher hinter der Idee zu erkennen: Auf dem LabCampus dreht sich alles darum, zusammen zu wachsen.
MIT Skyface

M3 - SKYFACE

In seiner komplexesten Form will Skyface durch die Zusammenführung und Visualisierung großer Datensätze ein räumliches Erlebnis schaffen. Ein einfacher Scan einer Bordkarte könnte eines Tages beispielsweise eine Projektion individuell generierter Visualisierungen aktivieren, die am Himmel erstrahlt. Einfacher angewendet und ausgedrückt, ist Skyface eine Kunstinstallation überdimensionalen Ausmaßes, die die Residents jeden Tag an die Rolle von LabCampus erinnert: Menschen rund um Innovation vernetzen.

M4 - SOUNDFLUX

Genau das macht Soundflux, indem es mit Hilfe von in der Umgebung eingebetteten Sensoren das Geräuschniveau auswertet. Auf die bereitgestellten Daten können quer durch den Campus aufgestellte Wasserspiele reagieren, die störende Geräusche durch den Klang sprudelnden Wassers ausgleichen. Was uns an dieser Idee begeistert? Sie stellt eine wunderbare Möglichkeit dar, die Lebensqualität durch Technologie zu verbessern. Und sie vereint Naturelemente mit menschlicher Interaktion und Raum.
MIT Labmug

M5 - LABMUG

Unsere Residents können hier etwa ihre Kontaktdaten einspeisen: Firma, E-Mail-Adresse, Social-Media-Profile etc. – und einfach per "Prost" (oder auch durch jeden anderen Trinkspruch) ihre Kontaktdaten austauschen. Wir sehen in dieser Idee noch weiteres Potential. Zum Beispiel könnten uns die Daten verdeutlichen, wie und wann die verschiedenen Flächen auf dem Campus genutzt werden. Und ehrlich gesagt, wer hat nicht gerne das ein oder andere digitale Gadget?